Why I want to coach

There are numerous reasons why I want to coach, most of which stem from my own childhood that was full of different sporting experiences.  I played basketball, softball, soccer, and did gymnastics and swimming. Soccer was the sport that stuck and became my passion as I grew older. Soccer is the main sport in which I can remember each and every coach I had, and their impact on me.  Looking back on those memorable experiences, I see my coaches as role models who inspired me to want to do my absolute best, who affected my dedication to the game, and who created such fun interactive environments.

I see coaching as a way to stay involved in the sport I love while being able to pass on my experience to younger players to give them the same chance at loving the sport as I had. Sports are extremely important to youth culture, in that they provide a fun, healthy lifestyle, which can serve to empower them, while at the same time teaching them important lessons like sportsmanship, time management, and how to be a functioning member of a team.

I also see sports as a way of empowering youth who otherwise do not have as many opportunities, such as lower class kids and especially girls. Sports are still dominated by men in this era, and that applies to the arena of coaching as well. When I think back on my experiences in soccer, I remember my female coaches having the greatest impact on me. They were my primary role models, and I wanted to do my best to make them proud. On my girls club soccer team, our female coach, Rita, was not only an example of a smart, tactical woman in charge, but she was also easy to talk to and formed close bonds with all of us.  When I think of my soccer career, she stands out among all the good memories.  I can only hope to have the same impact on future athletes.

~ by nwidger on February 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
